The School for Young Artists at the CYFEST-13 International Media Art Festival The School for Young Artists at the CYFEST-13 International Media Art Festival
The School for Young Artists at the CYFEST-13 International Media Art Festival

The CYFEST-13 International Media Art Festival was organized in St Petersburg on November 11-28, 2021. The festival theme in 2021 was Cosmos and Chaos.

Every style in art has strived to give birth to its own cosmos — an aesthetic structure and a formal solution. But what is taking place when the aesthetic and formal lose their meaning in the process of determining what art is? Abyss gives birth to abyss? What could be engendered by the “immeasurableness” of information? Or soon the new technologies will completely engulf the aesthetical and our old cosmos of meanings will be of absolutely no interest to a new generation of artists?
Elena Gubanova, curator

Five graduates of the School for Young Artists program presented their four art projects at the festival. 

ALINA KUGUSH
LABORATORY X video installation
AIR — Art.ITMO.Residency, St Petersburg, Russia
The project is supported by the PRO ARTE Foundation and the CYLAND Media Art Lab

Any conspiracy theory arises from the desire to explain the complexity of the world in a simplified way. As an artistic gesture, Alina Kugush takes this logic to an absurd conclusion, by “thinking in categories” — visual ones, in this case. 

The project features several screens combined with a static collage. This “visual cloud” also includes a laboratory table with screens mounted in it. Several of the screen are placed at the bottom of glass tubes. The animation of the screens moves at different speeds — from 3 to 9 frames per minute. The visual refrain: domestic objects resembling microbes under a microscope replace one another. The unpredictability of elements that perform the role of “microbes” cause a comic effect. 

Alina Kugush is a graduate of the PRO ARTE’s School for Young Artists (2021). She works with watercolor graphics, GIF animation, installation, performance and art mediation. Collects a work as a system of links from one meaning to another, uses wordplay, collage, placing familiar objects in an unfamiliar environment, refers to carnival and play. Participant of exhibitions and interdisciplinary projects in St. Petersburg, Moscow, Bishkek. She studied at the Faculty of Fine Arts of the Russian State Pedagogical University (2012-2014) and at the Faculty of Graphics of the St. Petersburg State Academic Institute of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture (Art Academy, 2014-2018). Lives and works in St. Petersburg. 

MARIA KAROL and EVGENY KORELIN
PATHND (Past actions that have not been done) installation
Annenkirche, St Petersburg, Russia
The project is supported by the PRO ARTE Foundation and the CYLAND Media Art Lab 

PATHND stands for “past actions that have not been done”. The project began in 2020, and gradually changed before reaching its current form. It now addresses the meeting point of anxiety and fear, while the authors are mainly guided by the emotional nuances of the words. Fear has become an animal feeling, natural and useful, worthy of respect, while anxiety is a sticky organism that is constantly nearby. Anxiety awaits you around every corner in the hope that you will take some action, so that the web of probabilities and deviations from plans grows even larger. Anxiety is the horseman of chaos and unpredictability, but it is from chaos that everything in this world is born. 

Maria Karol works with installation, video and graphics. Addresses themes of memory and cognitive distortion. Graduated from the School for Young Artists of the PRO ARTE Foundation (2021) and the Faculty of Contemporary Art of the Education Environment online school (2020). Lives and works in St. Petersburg. 

Evgeny Korelin works with graphics, painting, sound art and street art. Graduate of the Department of Monumental and Decorative Painting of the St. Petersburg Stieglitz Art Academy (2015) and the School for Young Artists of the PRO ARTE Foundation (2021). Lives and works in St. Petersburg. 

IRINA HEINZ
Celestial Bodies audiovisual installation
Museum of Applied Arts, Stieglitz Art Academy, St Petersburg, Russia
The project is supported by the PRO ARTE Foundation and the CYLAND Media Art Lab 

Garbage dumps seem like great works of the collective unconscious: they hypnotize and amaze us with their enormous size. But all these tons of garbage eat away at the body of the Earth like cancerous tumors. They must be eliminated. Irina Geints’ great-grandmother was a healer and cast spells to drive out illnesses and heal people’s bodies. Can a celestial body — our planet — also be healed in this way? Perhaps we simply need a spell on a cosmic scale. What if we send this disease to the center of our gallery — to the Sagittarius A black hole? 

Irina Heinz works with photography, text, sculpture and video. Investigates themes of memory, relations with non-human subjects, recording and comprehending everyday life by post-documentary means. Graduated from the School for Young Artists of the PRO ARTE Foundation (2021) and the Photographic Academy of Documentary and Art Photography (2021). Graduated from the Russian State Pedagogical University with a degree in Literature and Literary Editing (2014) and the Master's program at the Faculty of Philology, St. Petersburg State University (2016). Lives and works in St. Petersburg. 

KARINA DRACHEVA
Universe media installation
Museum of Applied Arts, Stieglitz Art Academy, St Petersburg, Russia
The project is supported by the PRO ARTE Foundation and the CYLAND Media Art Lab 

The artist addresses the philosophical issue of the relationship between the human being and the universe. Although celestial bodies in the cosmos move at enormous speeds, human beings cannot detect these changes, as our lives are too short. There is a theory that nothing in the world takes place without consequences. Does the brief moment of a human life leave a trace in the universe? If so, what kind? Does it annoy the universe, causing chaos to the ordered structure of existence? 

Karina Dracheva is a graduate of the School for Young Artists of the PRO ARTE Foundation (2021). Works with graphics and new media. She is interested in the topic of human interaction with the surrounding reality at the emotional-figurative level, contemplation of objects and dialogue with them. Graduated from the St. Petersburg Stieglitz Art Academy, specialized in ceramics and glass (2017) and artistic metal processing (2019). Lives and works in St. Petersburg.

Support our projects and we can do more!
Support Us

6-3 Rubinsteina Str., 191025, St. Petersburg, Russia
Phone: +7 (981) 206-17-18 , office@proarte.ru

© PRO ARTE 2000-2022. All rights reserved

PRO ARTE is supported by

   

Our Partners

Российский этнографический музей

Школа молодого художника на фестивале «КИБЕРФЕСТ-13» Школа молодого художника на фестивале «КИБЕРФЕСТ-13»
Школа молодого художника на фестивале «КИБЕРФЕСТ-13»

Международный фестиваль медиаискусства «Киберфест-13» состоялся 11-28 ноября 2021.
На шести площадках Санкт-Петербурга были представлены проекты 70 художников из 15 стран.
Тема фестиваля в 2021 году — «Космос и Хаос».

«Всякий стиль в искусстве стремился породить свой собственный космос — эстетическую структуру и формальное решение. Но что происходит, когда эстетическое, формальное теряет свое значение в определении, что такое искусство? Бездна рождает бездну? Что может быть рождено «пропастью» информации? Или скоро новые технологии полностью поглотят эстетическое — и наш старый космос смыслов будет совершенно неинтересен новому поколению художников?»

— Елена Губанова, художник, куратор

На фестивале представлены проекты выпускников программы «Школа молодого художника» 2021 года: Алины Кугуш, Марии Кароль и Евгения Корелина, Ирины Гейнц и Карины Драчевой. 

Фонд «ПРО АРТЕ» — стратегический партнер фестиваля «Киберфест-13». 

АЛИНА КУГУШ
Видеоинсталляция «Лаборатория Х»
Пространство AIR — Art.ITMO.Residency
Проект реализован при поддержке Фонда «ПРО АРТЕ» и Медиалаборатории CYLAND 

Любая теория заговора рождается из стремления объяснить сложное мироустройство более простым способом. В качестве художественного жеста художница обращается к этой логике и разворачивает ее в абсурдистском ключе, применяя «мышление по подобию», в данном случае — визуальному. 

Визуальный рефрен — бытовые объекты, напоминающие своими очертаниями микробы под микроскопом, сменяют друг друга. В качестве щупалец микроба выступают элементы архитектуры, резинки на волосах, танцующие фигуры, словом, все что угодно, что вписывается в эту форму. Непредсказуемость каждого нового элемента, выступающего в роли «микроба» рождает комический эффект. 

Алина Кугуш — выпускница Школы молодого художника Фонда «ПРО АРТЕ» (2021). Работает с акварельной графикой, гиф-анимацией, инсталляцией, перформансом и арт-медиацией. Собирает произведение как систему ссылок с одного значения на другое, использует игру слов, коллажность, помещение привычных объектов в непривычную среду. Обращается к карнавальному и игровому.
Участница Школы активного рисования и перформативного позирования ШАРППС-7 группы «Север 7», ярмарки Sam Fair, групповых выставок в галереях NAMEGALLERY и «Пересветов переулок»; междисциплинарных проектов в Санкт-Петербурге, Москве и Бишкеке. Училась на факультете изобразительного искусства Российского государственного педагогического университета им. А.И. Герцена (2012-2014) и на факультете графики Санкт-Петербургской Академии художеств им. И.Е. Репина (2014-2018).  Живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге. 

«Лаборатория Х» Алины Кугуш — часть выставочного проекта «Кто ты, а кто я?», включающего работы, которые рассматривают проблемы самоопределения человека в эпоху четвертой промышленной революции. 

МАРИЯ КАРОЛЬ, ЕВГЕНИЙ КОРЕЛИН
Инсталляция «PATHND (Past actions that have not been done | Действия, которые не были совершались)»
Анненкирхе
Проект реализован при поддержке Фонда «ПРО АРТЕ» и Медиалаборатории CYLAND

Проект был начат еще в 2020 году и, постепенно меняясь, пришел к своей нынешней форме. На первый план вышло пересечение тревоги и страха, притом авторы отталкивались прежде всего от эмоциональной окраски слов. Страх здесь стал животным чувством, естественным и полезным, достойным уважения, а тревога — липким и постоянно присутствующим рядом организмом. Тревога ждет тебя за каждым углом в надежде, что ты предпримешь какое-то действие, чтобы сеть вероятностей и отклонений от запланированного разрослась еще больше. Тревога — всадник хаоса и непредсказуемости, но как раз из хаоса и рождается все в этом мире. 

Мария Кароль работает с инсталляцией, видео и графикой. Обращается к темам памяти и когнитивных искажений. Выпускница «Школы молодого художника» Фонда «ПРО АРТЕ» (2021) и факультета современного искусства онлайн-школы «Среда обучения» (2020). Живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге. 

Евгений Корелин работает с графикой, живописью, саунд-артом и стрит-артом. Выпускник кафедры монументально-декоративной живописи Санкт-Петербургской государственной художественно-промышленной академии им. А.Л. Штиглица (2015) и «Школы молодого художника» Фонда «ПРО АРТЕ» (2021). Живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге. 

Проекты фестиваля «Киберфест-13», выставленные в Анненкирхе, — это художественное представление различных форм материи и новое осмысление материальности с точки зрения современных научных знаний. 

ИРИНА ГЕЙНЦ
Аудиовизуальная инсталляция «Небесные тела»
Учебный Музей прикладного искусства, Академия им. А.Л. Штиглица 

Инженер Алексей Грачев, звук — Антон Щеголев, визуализация — Александр Бочков.
Проект реализован при поддержке Фонда «ПРО АРТЕ» и Медиалаборатории CYLAND 

Мусорные полигоны кажутся великими произведениями коллективного бессознательного: они гипнотизируют и восхищают своими масштабами. С другой стороны, тонны мусора разъедают тело Земли, как раковые опухоли. От них необходимо избавиться. Прабабушка Ирины Гейнц была знахаркой и заговаривала болезни, лечила тела людей. Можно ли так же вылечить небесное тело — планету? Возможно, для этого попросту нужен заговор космического масштаба. Что если отправить всю эту хворь в центр нашей галактики — черную дыру Стрелец А? 

Ирина Гейнц работает с фотографией, текстом, скульптурой и видео. Занимается темами памяти, отношений с нечеловеческими субъектами, фиксированием и осмыслением повседневности постдокументальными средствами. Выпускница «Школы молодого художника» Фонда «ПРО АРТЕ» (2021) и Академии документальной и арт фотографии «Фотографика» (2021). Окончила Российский государственный педагогический университет им. А.И. Герцена по специальности «Литература и литературное редактирование» (2014) и программу магистратуры филологического факультета Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета (2016). Живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге. 

В рамках фестиваля «Киберфест-13» в Большом выставочном зале Академии Штиглица разместилась космическая станция. Художники представили 19 проектов различных моделей возможных миров. 

КАРИНА ДРАЧЕВА при участии Ирины Калапышиной
Медиаинсталляция «Вселенная»
Учебный музей прикладного искусства, Академия им. А.Л. Штиглица 

Инженеры Алексей Грачев, Андрей Строков; звукооператор — Антон Щеголев
Проект реализован при поддержке Фонда «ПРО АРТЕ» и Медиалаборатории CYLAND 

Проект обращается к философскому вопросу взаимоотношений человека и Вселенной. Несмотря на то что небесные тела в космосе движутся с огромной скоростью, человек не может уловить изменения, его жизнь для этого слишком коротка. Существует теория, согласно которой ничто в мире не происходит без последствий. Оставляет ли краткий миг человеческой жизни свой след во Вселенной? И если да, то какой? Приводит ли он Вселенную в раздражение, вызывая хаос в упорядоченной структуре бытия? 

Карина Драчева — выпускница «Школы молодого художника» Фонда «ПРО АРТЕ» (2021). Работает с графикой и новыми медиа. Занимается темой взаимодействия человека и окружающей действительности на эмоционально-образном уровне: созерцание предметов и диалог с ними, переосмысление эталонов, кризис внутренних ценностей. Окончила Санкт-Петербургскую государственную художественно-промышленную академию им. А.Л. Штиглица по направлениям художественной керамики и стекла (2017) и художественной обработки металла (2019). Живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге. 

В рамках фестиваля «Киберфест-13» в Большом выставочном зале Академии Штиглица разместилась космическая станция. Художники представили 19 проектов различных моделей возможных миров.

Поддержите наши проекты, и мы
сможем сделать еще больше!
Поддержать

191025, Санкт-Петербург, ул. Рубинштейна, д. 6, лит. А, кв. 3
Тел.: +7 (981) 206-17-18, office@proarte.ru

© ПРО АРТЕ 2000-2022. Все права защищены

Нас поддерживают

   

Наши партнеры

Российский этнографический музей