WATER PAVILION. Exhibition by Mark Maklakov WATER PAVILION. Exhibition by Mark Maklakov
WATER PAVILION. Exhibition by Mark Maklakov
May 11-15, 2021
PRO ARTE Foundation St Petersburg, Peter and Paul Fortress, Nevskaya Kurtina, left side

PRO ARTE Foundation
Supported by the Mikhail Prokhorov Foundation 

WATER PAVILION
Exhibition by Mark Maklakov
Curator — Lizaveta Matveeva
April 26-30 and May 11-15, 2021
St Petersburg, PRO ARTE Foundation, Peter and Paul Fortress, Nevskaya Kurtina, left side

The exhibition is open from 12:00 to 17:00.
Admission is free, please wear a mask.  

Mark Maklakov's project "Water Pavilion" is the second in a series of solo exhibitions by the students of the PRO ARTE School for Young Artists, 2020-21.  The artists' exhibitions are the result of seminars led by curator Lizaveta Matveyeva, dedicated to the issues of site-specific art projects. 

In the space of the PRO ARTE Foundation in the Peter and Paul Fortress, the artist has placed a Water Pavilion, which inevitably reminds the viewer of the Baroque pavilion "The Grotto" in the Catherine Park in Tsarskoye Selo. The building conveys a joyful mood thanks to its sky-blue color and multi-colored grotesques. But the frivolous nature of the facade is only part of the story — inside the Pavilion there are paintings washed away by the flood, and seemingly cheerful grotesques are an illustration of duality, where there is a place for both life and death. 

Mark Maklakov works with graphics and painting. In 2018, the graphic series "Kunstkamera", "Masks", "Venus" were shown in the artist's gallery in the Loft project "Etazhi", St. Petersburg. Participant of the PRO ARTE "School for Young Artists" 2020-21 and the THEATRUM Laboratory of the Theater Institute, Kazan, 2020. A graduate of the Ioganson Art School, in 2011-2015 he studied at the Russian State Institute for Performing Arts. Lives and works in St. Petersburg.

Lizaveta Matveyeva — curator, works with themes of creative spaces and incubators, self-organized art initiatives, art residences, participatory art opportunities. Coordinator of the international program of residences for artists and curators CEC ArtsLink Back Apartment Residencies, curator of the digital exhibition “I don’t know if the Earth is spinning or not ...” (www.notspinning.world) in the framework of the main project of the VII International Moscow Biennale for Young Art (together with Francesca Altamura) and SAM Fair at the Street Art Museum (St. Petersburg). Co-curator of the international festival ART PROSPECT. Curator of the 2018-2019 season of the project "Start" (Center for Contemporary Art Winzavod, Moscow), co-curator of the artist-run space "Luda" (2014-2017, St. Petersburg). Expert of the State Prize in the field of contemporary art "Innovation" 2020. Lives and works in St. Petersburg.

Support our projects and we can do more!
Support Us

3 Peter and Paul Fortress, 197046, St. Petersburg, Russia
Phone/Fax: +7 (812) 233-00-40, office@proarte.ru

© PRO ARTE 2000-2020. All rights reserved

PRO ARTE is supported by

   

Our Partners

Логотип Cumulus

ПАВИЛЬОН ВОДЫ. Проект Марка Маклакова ПАВИЛЬОН ВОДЫ. Проект Марка Маклакова
ПАВИЛЬОН ВОДЫ. Проект Марка Маклакова
11-15 мая 2021
Фонд «ПРО АРТЕ», Петропавловская крепость, Невская куртина, левая сторона

Фонд «ПРО АРТЕ»
При поддержке Фонда Михаила Прохорова 

Выставка Марка Маклакова
ПАВИЛЬОН ВОДЫ
Куратор — Лизавета Матвеева
Фонд «ПРО АРТЕ», Петропавловская крепость, Невская куртина, левая сторона 

Выставка работает 26-30 апреля и 11-15 мая 2021 с 12:00 до 17:00.
Вход свободный, в маске. 

Проект Марка Маклакова «Павильон воды» — второй в серии персональных выставок молодых художников. В пространстве Невской куртины художник разместил настоящий Павильон воды, неизбежно напоминающий зрителю о Барочном павильоне «Грот» в Екатерининском парке. Сооружение транслирует радостное настроение благодаря своему небесно-голубому цвету и разноцветным гротескам. Но легкомысленный характер фасада — это лишь часть истории, которую в своей работе развивает художник. Внутри Павильона — смытая наводнением живопись, а, казалось бы, веселые гротески — иллюстрация дуальности, где находится место и жизни, и смерти. 

Марк Маклаков работает с графикой и живописью. В 2018 графические серии «Кунсткамера», «Маски», «Venus» были показаны в галерее художника в Лофт-проекте «Этажи». Участник программы «Школа молодого художника» 2020-2021 и лаборатории THEATRUM Института театра (Казань, 2020). Выпускник СПбГАХЛ им. Б.В. Иогансона (СХШ), в 2011-2015 проходил обучение в Российском государственном институте сценических искусств. Живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге. 

Лизавета Матвеева – куратор, работает с темами креативных пространств и инкубаторов, самоорганизованных художественных инициатив, арт-резиденций, партиципаторных возможностей искусства. Координатор международной программы резиденций для художников и кураторов CEC ArtsLink Back Apartment Residencies, куратор диджитал-выставки «Я не знаю, Земля кружится или нет…» (www.notspinning.world) в рамках основного проекта VII Международной московской биеннале молодого искусства (совместно с Франческой Альтамура) и ярмарки SAM Fair в Музее стрит-арта (Санкт-Петербург). Сокуратор международного фестиваля АРТ ПРОСПЕКТ. Куратор сезона 2018-2019 проекта «Старт» (ЦСИ Винзавод, Москва), сокуратор artist-run пространства «Люда» (2014-2017, Санкт-Петербург). Эксперт Государственной премии в области современного искусства «Инновация» 2020. Живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге.

Лизавета Матвеева. Благодаря воде

Поддержите наши проекты, и мы
сможем сделать еще больше!
Поддержать

197046, Санкт-Петербург, Петропавловская крепость, д. 3
Тел./факс: +7 (812) 233-00-40, office@proarte.ru

© ПРО АРТЕ 2000-2020. Все права защищены

Нас поддерживают

   

Наши партнеры

Логотип Cumulus